Become a Patron!


System of government Unitary one-party presidential republic
V-Dem Electoral Democracy Index0.07/1
Head of State (President)Isaias Afwerki (PFDJ, *)
Parties in GovernmentPFDJ (*)

The National Assembly was established by the PFDJ (*) in 1994, and no parliamentary election has been held since then. It has not convened since 2002, when all members of the Parliament voted to grant President Afwerki full legislative powers. Nevertheless, we decided to display its composition below since it still exists from a legal perspective.

National Parliament


Political parties are banned in the country and no other political organizations are allowed to organize.

แˆ…แ‹แ‰ฃแ‹Š แŒแŠ•แ‰ฃแˆญ แŠ•แ‹ฐแˆžแŠญแˆซแˆตแŠ• แแ‰ตแˆ•แŠ•
hษ™zbawi gษ™nbar ndรคmokrasษ™n fษ™tแธฅษ™n
People’s Front for Democracy and Justice (PFDJ)

Leader: Isaias Afwerki
Orientation: *
Ideology: Eritrean nationalism
Stance towards the government:  In government
International affiliation: N/A